I Can Do Hard Things.

This past week was the start of my internship at DMC. And it was… HARD. Not because the work was above what I have done in the past. I actually spent most of my time observing. It was hard because I found it stressful to work with patients in such a critical state. It was hard because it requires me to be up at 5 every morning, and then to be on my feet until 5 that afternoon (don’t judge…I was a desk-bound student 3 days a week prior to this). It was hard because I constantly found myself wondering if the other SLPs felt I was knowledgeable or experienced enough to be working with them. This week was HARD.
Now for the irony. I absolutely could not stop thinking about the patients I saw throughout the week on my time off. I had an ache inside me to go back and do the whole week again. Not because I feel that I did a poor job, but because I loved it. Doing hard things can strengthen us and invigorate us. However, we are human beings prone to choose the path of least resistance. Thus…we need to be reminded that we can, in fact, do hard things.

I recently came across this article from Business Insider about the importance of doing hard things. Some of my favorites:

  • You have to give more than you get in return right away.
  • You have to care more about others than they care about you.
  • You have to feel unsure and insecure when playing it safe seems smarter.
  • You have to make mistakes and look like an idiot.
  • You have to keep moving towards where you want to be no matter what’s in front of you.

Read more: http://danwaldschmidt.com/2014/01/attitude/hard-things#ixzz2qt9nJFs0

So. Let us all channel our inner Rihanna, and be HARD.

Jessica

Leave a Reply

